

Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting Minutes

January 21, 2025

The organizational meeting of the Worthington Libraries Board of Trustees was held Tuesday, January 21, 2025, at 6 p.m. in the meeting room at Northwest Library with Joan Herbers presiding.

Members present were Kyla Dembowski, Elizabeth Grieser, Emma Mulvaney, Abigail Poklar, Haze Saputra and Joseph Saverimuttu. Also present were Lauren Robinson, Director/CEO; Jeremie Stevens, CFO; Monica Baughman, Director of Support Services; Theresa Messenger, Executive Assistant; Sam Lewis, Systems Administrator, Robert Hess, Computer Systems Analyst; Sabra Lowe, Finance Manager

There was no public participation.

New trustee Haze Saputra was sworn in by Director of Support Services Monica Baughman. Ms. Saputra will serve a full term from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2031.

New trustee Emma Mulvaney was sworn in by Director of Support Services Monica Baughman. Ms. Mulvaney will serve a one-year term from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2025

A motion was made by Ms. Dembowski and seconded by Mr. Saverimuttu to adopt <u>RESOLUTION</u> #01-01-25 to elect the following officers of the Board of Trustees for 2025: Joan Herbers, President; Abigail Poklar, Vice President; and Elizabeth Grieser, Secretary.

Roll Call: Ms. Dembowski, aye; Ms. Grieser, aye; Ms. Herbers, aye; Ms. Mulvaney, aye; Ms. Poklar, aye; Ms. Saputra, aye; and Mr. Saverimuttu, aye. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Ms. Poklar and seconded by Ms. Mulvaney to adopt <u>RESOLUTION #01-02-25</u> to elect Jeremie Stevens as the Chief Fiscal Officer, effective from the Organizational Meeting on January 21, 2025, to the Organizational Meeting in January 2026; to appoint Lauren Robinson and Sabra Lowe as Deputy Fiscal Officers; to approve surety bonds of \$100,000.00 each.

Roll Call: Ms. Dembowski, aye; Ms. Grieser, aye; Ms. Herbers, aye; Ms. Mulvaney, aye; Ms. Poklar, aye; Ms. Saputra, aye; and Mr. Saverimuttu, aye. Motion passed.

Chief Fiscal Officer Jeremie Stevens and Deputy Fiscal Officer Lauren Robinson were sworn in by Director of Support Services Monica Baughman. Sabra Lowe will be sworn in at a later time when she is feeling well and back at the Library.

Ms. Herbers announced the appointment of board committees for 2025 as follows:

FINANCE	PERSONNEL	PLANNING/LIBRARY	BOARD GOVERNANCE
		SERVICES	
Kyla Dembowski, Chair	Elizabeth Grieser, Chair	Abigail Poklar, Chair	Joe Saverimuttu, Chair
Joe Saverimuttu	Kyla Dembowski	Elizabeth Grieser	Haze Saputra
Haze Saputra	Emma Mulvaney	Joan Herbers	Joan Herbers

Friends Liaison

Emma Mulvaney

New Trustee Mentor

Elizabeth Grieser

The 2025 board meeting schedule was presented as follows:

Board Meeting Day/Date	<u>Event</u>	Location	<u>Time</u>
Tuesday, January 21	Board Meeting	NWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, February 18	Board Meeting	WPK-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, March 18	Board Meeting	OWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, April 15	Board Meeting	NWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, May 20	Board Meeting	WPK-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, June 17	Board Meeting	OWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, July 15*	Board Meeting	NWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, August 19	Board Meeting	WPK-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, September 16	Board Meeting	OWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, October 21	Board Meeting	NWL-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, November 18	Board Meeting	WPK-MR	6 p.m.
Tuesday, December 16	Reception Board Meeting	OWL-MR OWL-MR	5:30 p.m. 6 p.m.

^{*}If Necessary

MR – Meeting Room
OWL – Old Worthington Library, 820 High Street
NWL – Northwest Library, 2280 Hard Road

WPK - Worthington Park Library, 1389 Worthington Centre Drive

The Board adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES - JANUARY 21, 2025