Genealogy guide

Getting started

Genealogy projects can seem overwhelming, but getting off to the right start saves time and effort. Many basic books on genealogy can be found in the reference or circulating book section with the number 929. If you're a real beginner, these titles will give you some guidance on how to start:

Marsha Hoffman Rising

The Family Tree Problem Solver

2019

929.1072 RIS

Presents ideas and tips for overcoming common obstacles researching genealogies, including advice on how to find records before civil registration, using censuses and advanced court records.

Janice Schultz

Finding Your Roots

2013

929.1072 SCH

Find advice and tools for getting started, including research techniques, interviewing tips and effective ways to use the library and internet in this book written by a librarian and authority on genealogical research.

Val D. Greenwood

Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy

2017

929.1 GRE

The best single book that covers every aspect of genealogical research, from handwriting forms to land records.

Once you have some idea of research techniques, recommended research titles are:

George G. Morgan and Drew Smith

Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques

2014

929.1072 MOR

Learn how to use innovative methods, tools and software programs to unearth elusive or hard-to-find details about ancestors in this step-by-step guide.

Matthew Helm and April Leigh Helm

Genealogy for Dummies

2017

929.1 HEL

With the help of this hands-on guide, you'll find out how to start your genealogical research using the latest tools and techniques, including DNA testing.

George G. Morgan

How to Do Everything: Genealogy

2015

929.1 MOR

The fourth edition of this popular title covers all the major genealogical record types and explains traditional and digital research strategies.

Drew Smith

Organize Your Genealogy

2016

929.1 SMI

Need help getting organized and planning your genealogical research strategy? This book introduces you to classic research methods as well as the latest tech tools and software.

Getting specific

America's melting pot has brought together people from all over the world. Genealogical records vary from country to country. Titles that provide specific aid include:

Lisa A. Alzo

The Family Tree Polish, Czech & Slovak Genealogy Guide

2016

929.1 ALZ

This in-depth guide will take you through the challenges of researching your Eastern European ancestors.

Franklin Carter Smith and Emily Anne Croom

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your African-American Ancestors

2003

929.1089 SMI

Provides easy, step-by-step instruction for researching slave and free Black ancestors pre- and post-Civil War.

Paul Milner and Linda Jonas

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your English Ancestors

2000

929.0721

Includes tips on locating records both here and abroad, deciphering original documents, planning a research trip and putting an ancestor's records in historical context.

Sheau-yueh J. Chao

In Search of Your Asian Roots

2013

929.1 CHA

China has a genealogical history reaching back 3,000 years. This book provides a key to tracing the point of origin of Chinese family names.

W. Daniel Quillen

Mastering Family, Library and & Church Records

2013

929.1072 QUI

Church records are often overlooked but can be a great source of information for genealogists. Quillen also explains using sources such as family bibles, letters, legal papers and old photos.

James M. Beidler

Trace Your German Roots Online

2016

929.1072 BEI

Explore your Germanic heritage from the comfort of your own computer!

John Grenham

Tracing Your Irish Ancestors

2012

929.1072 GRE

A detailed and comprehensive guide to Irish genealogy.

Anthony Adolph

Tracing Your Scottish Family History

2009

929.1072 ADO

A comprehensive and detailed research guide that details, step by step, the best ways to search archives, libraries, publications, censuses, tax rolls and more.

My Heritage

Once you have found the geographical location of the information you are looking for, try consulting My Heritage (formerly known as WorldVitalRecords) to determine where and how to get specific records.

The Worthington Room

Central Ohio has many unique genealogical resource centers. Old Worthington Library has the Worthington Room, which contains specialized material for searching local genealogy and archives. These resources may be in book form or microfilm. A brief selection follows:

Mary V. Reed

Abstracts from Miscellaneous Delaware County Newspapers, 1821-1857

1992

R 929.3 ABS

This volume includes abstracts of notable events such as marriages, deaths, legal actions and more from local newspapers.

Marilyn Cryder

Abstracts of Obituaries, Death Notices and Funeral Notices from the Delaware Gazette

1993

R 929.3 CRY

This two-volume series provides abstracts of deaths and funerals from local papers for the northern Franklin County and Delaware County area from 1821 through 1889.

Esther Weygandt Powell

Early Ohio Tax Records

1993

R 929.3 EAR

A list of taxpayers in Ohio from 1810 to 1825, arranged chronologically by county, with a separate name index.

Kip Sperry

Genealogical Research in Ohio

2003

R 929.1 SPE

Ohio is a state settled by migration, and Sperry's book gives a thorough introduction to the many archives and libraries in Ohio.

Ohio Cemetery Records Extracted from the "Old Northwest" Genealogical Quarterly

1984

R 929.3 OHI

This volume comprises all the cemetery records originally published in the 15 volumes of this genealogy magazine.

Carol Willsey Bell

Ohio Divorces: The Early Years

1994

R 929.3 BEL

This title lists divorce records from the 19th century for many Ohio counties.

Ohio Source Records: From the Ohio Genealogical Quarterly

1986

R 929.3 OHI

Tax lists, newspaper abstracts, family histories, bible records and local histories are among the topics covered in this book.

Carol Willsey Bell

Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index

1981

R 929.3 BEL

A massive index to county probate court records for Ohio arranged by name.

Virginia McCormick

Scioto Company Descendants

2009

977.156 MCC

Genealogies of some Worthington families are given with biographical notes.

Microfilm sources at Old Worthington Library include:

Delaware Gazette

R 977.1535 DEL

1855-1881

Delaware Patron

R 977.1535 DEL

1824-1829

Freeman's Chronicle

R 977.157 FRE

1812-1814

Franklin Chronicle

R 977.1535 DEL

1821-1823

Olentangy Gazette

R 977.1535 OLE

1840-1855

Public Opinion

R 977.156 PUB]

1889-1930

This Week in Worthington

MAG THIS WEEK IN WORTHINGTON

1993-2012

This Week Worthington News

MAG WORTHINGTON NEWS (SNP)

2012-2018

United States Census. Franklin County

R 929.3 UNI

Census microfilm for Franklin County, Ohio, 1830-1920.

Westerville Review

R 977.156 WES

1880-1885

Western Intelligencer

R 977.156 WES

1812-1814

The Worthington News

MAG WORTHINGTON

1925-1992

The Worthington Suburbia News

MAG WORTHINGTON SUBURBIA NEWS (SNP)

1993-1998

The Worthington News

MAG WORTHINGTON NEWS (SNP)

1999-2012

Getting digital

It is always a good idea to use caution while searching the internet. Information is only as good as its source. Determining credibility for genealogical sources is especially tricky, since there are no authoritative central agencies. Much of the information, even in published family histories, may be misleading family legends rather than fact. Use your critical intelligence when looking at genealogical information on the internet.

Web sources make it easy to find and share information online. Much of the information a genealogist needs is NOT on the internet, but valuable resources can be found there. Some popular sites are:

HeritageHub

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

A valuable resource for genealogical research, this NewsBank database, formerly known as America's Obituaries and Death Notices, provides obituaries and death notices from American newspapers from 1704 through the present. Search by name, date range or text such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members or other personal information.

Ancestry Library Edition

Available only inside the library (Visit us!)

Begin your genealogical or local history research with Ancestry Library Edition from ProQuest and Ancestry.com. Ancestry Library Edition includes the digitized images of the U.S.

Cyndislist.com

A well-known gateway with links to thousands of genealogy sites on the internet. The site is free, but contains links to fee-based sites.

Ellis Island Records

This site searches immigration records from the port of entry of many Americans' ancestors. This site is prone to variant spellings and other problems; however, it still offers a means to find out where and with whom your ancestors crossed the Atlantic.

FamilySearch

Available only inside the library (Visit us!)

FamilySearch provides searchable access to names as well as images of historical genealogical records. It includes birth, marriage, death, census, land and court records from more than 130 countries to help you discover and make family connections.

Hayes Presidential Center Library Ohio Obituary Index

The Hayes Presidential Library Center offers a searchable index of obituaries from newspapers throughout Ohio, from the 1810s to the present day. More than 3.5 million records are indexed. There is no fee to use the index, but there is a nominal charge for copies of the obituaries.

HeritageQuest Online

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

HeritageQuest Online from ProQuest is a comprehensive collection of primary genealogical sources, local and family histories, research guides, census maps and more. Included are U.S. Federal Censuses, genealogy and local history directories, Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank Records and the Periodical Source Index (PERSI) Archive.

The National Archives Online

Selected online and searchable resources from the National Archives.

The Official Federal Land Records Site

This U.S. government database provides image access to more than five million federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present. Due to organization of documents in the General Land Office collection, this site does not currently contain every federal title record issued for the Public Land States. Certified copies of land patents can be requested, for official documentation.

Ohio Death Records Index Search

The Ohio History Connection offers this guide to searching for and obtaining copies of Ohio death certificates.

ROOTSWEB

This is a gateway site, with a busy listserv for asking and answering questions. There are also links to volunteer lookups and numerous message boards.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

See what Worthington looked like in 1922. This site provides a searchable interface for historical maps of Ohio towns and cities from 1882 through 1962.

Social Security Death Index

Available only inside the library (Visit us!)

The Death Master File contains records of deceased persons from the Social Security Administration (SSA). The database offers basic information about people with Social Security numbers whose deaths were reported to the SSA.

USGENWEB PROJECT

This is a free site staffed by volunteers working together to provide internet genealogical research in every county and state in the U.S. Some areas of the project are more complete than others. Many WPA records have been made available online through this project.

Worthington Memory

Originally created in 2002 to commemorate Worthington's bicentennial, Worthington Memory brings together tens of thousands of records spanning hundreds of years.

Genealogical resource centers in central Ohio

Columbus Metropolitan Library - Local History & Genealogy

96 S. Grant Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-645-2275

The genealogy collection housed on the third floor in the Genealogy, History and Travel Division of the Columbus Metropolitan Library is one of the largest collections of genealogical resources in the United States. Since 2007, the collection has grown to include the genealogy collections of the State Library of Ohio, the Palatines to America Society and the Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society. The library's collection includes indexes and transcriptions of census, vital, military, court and other records, as well as state, county and local histories, family histories, surname files, maps and atlases and more.

Delaware County Historical Society

2690 Stratford Rd.
Delaware, Ohio 43015
740-369-3831

The Delaware County Historical Society is the county-wide historical society dedicated to preserving, promoting, and educating about Delaware County history. The Cryder Historical Center and Research Library and the Nash House Museum is located at 157 E. William St., Delaware, Ohio 43015.

Delaware County Genealogical Society

Delaware County District Library
84 East Winter St.
Delaware, Ohio 43015
740-369-4375

The Delaware County Genealogical Society offers records from cemeteries, the Civil War, government, court records and more.

Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society

96 S. Grant Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-849-1239

Note: The Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society's office is housed in the Columbus Metropolitan Library's Genealogy, History and Travel Division.

Ohio History Connection

800 E. 17th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43211
614-297-2300

The Ohio History Connection houses a wealth of resources valuable to the genealogical researcher, including city directories, muster rolls, letters, death records, land records, military records and county and state records. For those beginning their research, the Ohio History Connection also offers genealogical workshops, in cooperation with the Columbus Metropolitan Library and the Franklin County Genealogical and Historical Society.

Getting the "gene" in genealogy

Not sure where to begin your quest for genetic genealogy information? Start with these online resources specifically geared toward those new to the field of genetic DNA research:

DNA for Newbies

A forum for those new to the field of genetic genealogy, this resource from the International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG) offers answers to basic questions, information about the different testing companies available, DNA lessons and helpful diagrams.

Blaine T. Bettinger

The Family Tree Guide to DNA Testing and Genetic Genealogy

2016

929.1072 BET

Get advice on the how and why of genealogy testing, including how to choose the right test, interpreting results and the ethics of DNA testing.

DNA Testing Companies

The first step in determining your genetic ancestry is to get tested. A variety of testing companies exist offering different types of tests and price ranges. Do your research and select a test that closely matches your goals and finances. Remember, as with most purchases, that you get what you pay for. Here are a few options to explore:

23andMe

This DNA ancestry service provides ancestry-related genetic reports and uninterpreted raw genetic data.

African Ancestry

African Ancestry uses the world's largest database of African DNA lineages to determine your country and ethnic group of origin, all with a simple swab of your cheek.

AncestryDNA

AncestryDNA (from Ancestry.com) will explain and help you choose a mitochondrial mtDNA or Y-chromosome lineage test and find leads based on DNA testing, surnames, geography and haplogroups.

Family Tree DNA

Offers Y-chromosome, mtDNA, combined Y-chromosome and mtDNA tests, XSTR DNA tests for males and females and other specialty testing services.

Genebase

This company offers maternal, paternal and combo ancestry packages and many search and analysis features.

DNA databases

Once you have tested your mt-DNA or Y-DNA, you can enter your DNA into one of the many DNA databases available. This will allow you to see if and how closely you match with anyone. Here are some databases to start with:

Y-STR Haplotype Reference Database (YHRD)

This database is interactive and allows the user the search for Y-STR haplotypes in various formats and within specified metapopulations.

Additional information

The International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG)

Founded in 2005 by DNA project administrators, the International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG) exists to advocate for and educate about the use of genetics as a tool for genealogical research, and promote a supportive network for genetic genealogists. Their website contains helpful information for both beginning and advanced genetic genealogists.

Your Genetic Genealogist

This blog examines the intersection of traditional genealogical techniques and modern genetic research and explores the latest news and developments in the related field of personal genomics.