Maintained by
Hillary K

Revised

June 11, 2024
Family in living room, with kids on tablet and parents on the couch
Access library resources from the comfort of your home
The Library has lots to offer you, even from home. Use your Worthington Libraries card to access our online content. You'll find e-books, e-audiobooks, magazines, movies and television shows, plus learning opportunities for all ages and more. You can also get help by email, phone and chat.

Top picks

hoopla

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Access digital video, music, comics, e-book and audiobook titles for use on your computer, smartphone, tablet or television streaming device with hoopla. All content is available streaming; some content is available to download for offline viewing, via the hoopla app.

Kanopy

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Access streaming digital video for use on your computer, smartphone, tablet or television streaming device with Kanopy.

Offerings include classic, foreign, independent, international and instructional films, as well as documentaries.

For kids

CultureGrams Kids Edition

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
CultureGrams Kids Edition electronic library helps children of all ages explore the history, people and culture of the countries of the world, including descriptions, images, timelines, maps, flags, fun facts, recipes, interviews, slideshows and video clips.

TumbleBook Library

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

TumbleBook Library is an online collection of animated, talking picture books, reading comprehension quizzes, educational games, and teacher resources. Includes story books, chapter books, graphic novels, nonfiction and more.

Scholastic BookFlix

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Scholastic BookFlix pairs video storybooks with nonfiction titles. This unique format allows children to watch a story and then learn more. Topics include people and places, animals and nature, family and community and much more. BookFlix also provides a read-along option, definitions, educator resources and educational games to play.

Scholastic TrueFlix

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Scholastic TrueFlix integrates captivating informational videos with quality nonfiction books to improve literacy skills and build knowledge in science and social studies topics. Vocabulary games, quizzes and links to further research are included to help kids expand on what they've learned.

World Book Kids

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

World Book Kids features content from the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia and is designed especially for younger users, English-language learners and reluctant readers. It has thousands of articles, colorful illustrations, diagrams and maps.

For tweens and teens

Explora Public Libraries

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Explora Public Libraries provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books, grouped into easy-to-browse categories.

Explora Secondary Schools

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Explora Secondary Schools provides a safe, trustworthy environment especially for middle and high students (grades 6-12) to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

World Book Online

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
The online version of World Book Encyclopedia offers articles suited for grades 4-12 and adults. With a dictionary, printable maps, photographs and illustrations, World Book Online also features audio, video and virtual reality presentations that let you explore places in the world in 360 degrees.

For adults

Creativebug

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)
Creativebug offers online video classes and tutorials on a variety of crafts, such as knitting, quilting, crochet, jewelry making and more. Patterns, templates and recipes are also available for download.

LinkedIn Learning

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Formerly known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning offers courses and online video tutorials (complete with captions and searchable transcripts), including the most current and popular software programs from Apple, Microsoft, Adobe and more.

Mango Languages

Worthington Libraries card & PIN required (No card? Apply online!)

Self-directed language instruction in dozens of modern and ancient languages is available through Mango Languages. Self-guided slideshows and easy navigation make learning a new language simple and fun.  Lessons focus on conversational skills, grammar and culture.

New York Times

Worthington Libraries card required (No card? Apply online!)
Enjoy unlimited access to news and content on NYTimes.com-- no paywall! Just click through and register to create a new NYTimes.com account, or log in to your existing NYTimes.com account. When using library computers or when connected to library Wi-Fi, access articles automatically. Outside the Library, you will be granted access for 72 hours.

Need help?

More like this

Digital media
Newspaper and magazine articles
School and homework

Recommended for

All ages
Headshot of Hillary Kline

Hillary K

I'm the library's communications specialist. I love reading— especially fantasy, mystery and historical nonfiction. I'm also a fan of cats, old houses and costume parties.

More by me